July 10, 2008

  • My Favorite Authors...

    Ok once long ago these were the authors I read whatever they had out-

    • Irene Radford (Dragon Nimbus, History,...)- she was my first author I read from the 'adult' section in the book store- the 'Sci-Fi/Fantasy' section.  Not the young adults...
    • David Eddings* (ah, such happy remembers.  I read the Belgariad series (five books) in a week...I borrowed them from this geeky kid name Aaron one summer... 10 years later we still have our own copies though one set is in storage...)
    • Anything Star Wars...ah before the prequels and Clone Wars.  Han, Leia, Luke, Chewie, and the droids- this series got me to read!  READ

    Honorable Mentiones- Maggie Furey, Joanne Bertin, Anne McCaffrey*

    Not so long ago- Sara Douglass (from aussie) was one of my top authors...Now not so much but maybe cause I havent read her good stuff for a while...

    Now-

    • Anne Bishop (Black Jewel Trilogy)
    • Patricia Briggs (Mercy Thomspon*, and earlier works)
    • Mercedes Lackey (Elementral Masters*, Five Hunderd Kindgoms*...)
    • Jennifer Fallon (any of her work...also from Aussie)

    Honorable Mentiones- Jim Butcher (Dresden Files*), Maria V. Snyder, Harry Potter* (goes without saying right?), Fiona McIntosh (another Aussie...notice a trend here?)

    Books on my read pile (new authors to me)-

    • Robin Hobb (also from aussie...ok I read her Assassin's books...the first 2... but I'm willing to retried them and others she has written...)
    • Kathatine Kerr (I have serveral of her series...havent ever read her...)
    • Greg Keyes
    • CE Murphy
    • And many more...

    So there is a small look at my books.  Remember, Aaron and I have probably over 1,600 (if not more) books; mostly fantasy.  And we like different kinds of authors, series, fantasy but we do have similiar books.  Ones with an (*) by them is ones he got me on.

    Ok off I go to write or goof off.   I'm sitting on 20,801 words right now...almost 2,000 for the day...

    Laters

    Kristen

Comments (6)

  • My husband made me read a couple of Belgariad books...I didn't read all 5 but I think I read 2. I liked them a lot.

    And ok I have a confession. I'm reading these really compelling young adult novels, the first one is named Twilight. It's teenaged vampire romance (I think I just got dumber for typing that) but holy crap is it well written (in my opinion). I have a very low tolerance for bad writing, and I can NOT put these down. I have to pace myself so I don't blow through them all at once. I highly recommend them.

  • @anissasiobhan - whos the author?  hey if they are good...that shouldnt make u dumber...I have a friend whos just a tad younger than me and she loves YA...
    Try Patricia Briggs' Moon Called book...
    Laters
    K

  • The books don't make me dumber. The phrase "teen vampire romance" makes me dumber. :) :) :) But it's true. Author is Stephanie Meyer. I kind of enjoy Young Adult fantasy because it's brain candy, it's entertaining and it's effortless.

    I'm also a fan of Tamora Pierce and Garth Nix.

  • @anissasiobhan - Gottca ya

    I've heard of Pierce and Nix...I have some of Pierce...just havent read her yet.

    Laters

    K

  • Some of Pierce's characters are a little too "cleverly" written (they have "clever" retorts stored up that don't seem realistic to me), but I really enjoy her story-craft.

    Nix. Is. A. God. :)

  • @anissasiobhan - Nix is from Aussie I believe...they bred good authors down there I think

    Laters

    K

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment